Goblet of Shock / Reviews There and Here

I have a new review series called “Goblet of Shock” which gives serious commentary on horror and new heavy rock bands that matter. I have my own page now on the site shared by famous horror authors Tamara Thorne and Alistair Cross, and it is there that I am giving specific attention and interpretation to the world’s newest and best musical projects.

I am not doing this for the purpose of criticism. This is a celebration. If I am approached by a new band (or stumble across one) that sucks, I simply will not put up the review. If a band gets on “Goblet of Shock,” there will be intricate commentary linking that  group to horror, two photos, and their hottest video. I will also tweet about it for a week constantly.

If you are a new band with a video that has some sort of horror thread, please contact me at michaelaronovitz@gmail.com

I am running into a bottleneck of bands at the moment who want to be reviewed. Of course, I can not review everyone. I also can not review two bands that have the exact same kind of horror thrust. That being said, I have additionally come across a number of good bands asking for exposure that don’t quite fit, for one reason or another, the “Goblet of Shock” paradigm. This does not mean the particular project is a runner up! In fact, bands that would additionally fall into this category are those I love who are already too big, like “In This Moment” or “Babymetal.” To accommodate the many projects like the ones just mentioned, I am going to feature much shorter reviews on this blog, maybe every three days or so. If you make it here to “The Author’s Graveyard,” I will name the members, make a comment about each, and run a paragraph. Then I will have the video link.

So far I have featured four of whom I feel are the most important new bands, the first three on “The Horror Review Page,” and the latest on my own new page “Goblet of Shock,” though I consider all four a part of the Goblet family if you will.

Ravenscroft: Gargoyles and Skulls.


Ravenscroft 6







The Bloody Jug Band: Hillbilly Horror


Bloody Jug Band 2






Forever Still: Scream Queens and Dark Sirens


Forever Still






Amerakin Overdose: Masks and Face Paint


Amerakin Overdose 1






I will be adding the aforementioned shorter reviews on this page within the next couple of days. The next band to go up on “Goblet of Shock” will be Saint Diablo.

About maronovitz2015

Michael Aronovitz is a college Professor of English. He is also a horror writer and rock music critic. -Seven Deadly Pleasures, (Collection), Hippocampus Press, 2009 -Alice Walks, (Novel-Hard Cover), Centipede Press, 2013 (Paperback), Dark Renaissance Books, 2014, (Electronic Version) Cemetery Dance Publications, 2016 -The Voices in Our Heads, (Collection), Horrified Press, 2014 -The Witch of the Wood, (Novel), Hippocampus Press, 2015 -Phantom Effect, (Novel), Night Shade / Skyhorse Publications, 2016 -Dancing With Tombstones, (Omnibus Lifetime Collection), Cemetery Dance Publications, fall 2021. -The Sculptor, (Novel), Night Shade / Skyhorse Publications, fall 2021. -More than fifty short stories published in magazines and anthologies. More than one hundred published music reviews.
This entry was posted in Amerakin Overdose, Forever Still, Hard Rock, horror, Music, Ravenscroft, Rock Review, Screamo, The Bloody Jug Band and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s